Provost Skene's House
Provost Skene’s House is currently undergoing redevelopment and will be reopening during 2021.
New displays exploring the life and achievements of inspirational people from Aberdeen and North East Scotland will offer ways to explore the rich history, international connections and amazing ingenuity of the city and region.
Built in the 16th century, Provost Skene's House is one of Aberdeen's few remaining examples of early burgh architecture.
The building has been altered several times, particularly in the 17th century when George Skene, after whom the house is named, is thought to have commissioned its carved plaster ceilings. The 17th century Painted Gallery retains its richly decorated ceiling and upper walls, full of religious imagery, though to have been commissioned by the Lumsden family.
The house has seen multiple uses and occupiers, including becoming the Victoria Lodging House in the 19th century, earlier it was used by Hanoverian troops as a billet during the Jacobite rebellion and the Duke of Cumberland stayed here on his way to Culloden.
In the 1930s the adjacent houses were demolished, but Provost Skene's House was saved and the interior refurbished. It was opened as a museum in 1953 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother and furnished in the styles of the 17th, 18th and early 19th centuries.