About the Council

Council composition

Aberdeen City Council has 45 Councillors in 13 multi-member wards.

The current political make-up of the Council is:

Political Party Number of Councillors
Scottish National Party (SNP) 19
Scottish Conservative and Unionist 11
Aberdeen Labour 9
Scottish Liberal Democrats 3
Independent Alliance Group 3

To find out which ward you are in, use our Interactive Mapping Service. For details on how to contact your local Councillors and/or to attend a Councillor surgery, please use our Your Councillors page.

The Administration

The Council Administration is a coalition of Labour, Conservative and Independent Councillors. The co-leaders of the Council are Councillor Jenny Laing and Councillor Douglas Lumsden
Read the Co-leaders' blog

Lord Provost

The Lord Provost acts as Convener of the City Council, Civic Head and Her Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of Aberdeen.

The current Lord Provost is Councillor Barney Crockett.
The Depute Lord Provost is Councillor Alan Donnelly

Council decision making

The Council has a number of Committees and Sub Committees where Councillors make decisions on local issues. The Council also appoints Councillors to various outside bodies.

The Council Committee structure is as follows:-

Directorates and Services

The council structure is based on four directorates in addition to the Office of Chief Executive:

  • Communities, Housing and Infrastructure
  • Corporate Governance
  • Education and Children's Services
  • Aberdeen City Health and Social Care Partnership

Would you like to give feedback about the new website?