Local public holidays

It should be noted that some of the dates below may appear in more than one list.  

National Holidays

It is up to employers whether they recognise National Holidays.

Scottish Government recognised public holidays

Local Aberdeen Holidays

These are traditional dates. They are not set by Aberdeen City Council. It is up to employers whether they recognise Local Aberdeen Holidays. 

  • April Holiday – This is the Monday after the third Sunday in April, unless that Monday falls within Holy Week (ie the day after Palm Sunday) in which case, the holiday falls to the following Monday, even if that Monday is Easter Monday.
  • May holiday – The first Monday in May
  • July holiday – The second Monday (first day of Trades Fortnight)
  • September holiday – The fourth Monday

Council Holidays 

Dates when our offices are likely to be closed due to the Council recognising public holidays for staff. Details will be published at the time. 

  • Good Friday - 7 April 2023
  • May Day - 1 May 2023
  • Christmas Day 25 December 2023
  • Boxing Day - 26 December 2023
  • New Year's Day - 1 January 2024
  • 2nd January - 2 January 2024
Did you find what you were looking for?

Status message

Please note, this form is anonymous, we can't reply directly to your feedback. If you would like to report an issue, make a complaint or suggestion, please Contact Us.