Content Related Links
Provost Skene's House
Dating from 1545, Provost Skenes House now houses an attractive series of period room settings recalling the elegant furnishings of earlier times. Visitors can see an intriguing painted ceiling in the Painted Gallery and changing fashions in the Costume Gallery. On the top floor there are changing displays of local history, coins and archaeology.
Foreign language guides are available please ask at reception.
Provost Skene's Tea Room serves coffee, light snacks and lunches (Tel: 01224 522743).
Visit the Provost Skene's House section of the Aberdeen Art Galleries and Museum website for more information about the collections. Digital prints of selected works in the collections can be ordered on-line from the website. A full education and learning service is also avaialble. Call Fiona Mair on 01224 337715 for information about activites, events and visits.
Due to the historic nature of Provost Skenes House it has limited access to the upper floors for visitors with mobility difficulties.
Toilets and Provost Skene's Tea Room are situated on the ground floor.
Provost Skene's House is temporarily closed to the public for the period of a year, from 23 February 2013, to allow for the demolition of neighbouring St. Nicholas House. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Back to the Aberdeen City Museums and Galleries home page.
- TEMPORARILY CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC
- Provost Skene’s House
Phone: 01224 523700