How can we help you...

Pressured Area Status

Pressured Area Status in Aberdeen City

On 22 May 2012 the Council's Housing & Environment Committee approved Pressured Area Status (PAS) designation in 50 letting areas in the city. A list of all the letting areas affected by PAS designation is listed below. 

 Altens  Cummings Park  Kepplehills  Ruthrieston
 Ashgrove  Denmore  Kingswells  Sheddocksley
 Balgownie  Dyce  King Street  South Sheddocksley
 Berryden  Ferryhill  Mannofield  Stockethill
 Bon Accord  Fountainhall  Middleton  Stoneywood
 Bridge of Don  Froghall  Middlefield  Summerhill
 Bucksburn  Gallowgate  Old Aberdeen  Sunnybank
 Castlegate  Garthdee / Kaimhill  Peterculter  Union Grove
 Central  George Street  Pittodrie  Urquhart Road
 Cornhill  Hazlehead  Raeden  West Balnagask
 Cove  Heathryfold  Rosehill  Westburn
 Craigiebuckler  Hilton  Rosemount  
 Cults  Holburn  Rosemount Place  

PAS designation means that the right to buy will be suspended in these letting areas for ten years until 5 September 2022 for all new tenancies created on or after 30 September 2002 to 1 March 2011. The Housing (Scotland) Act 2010 removed the RTB for new tenants after 1 March 2011 and therefore they are not affected by pressured area designations. The Council in partnership with Registered Social Landlords (Housing Associations) has developed other forms of low cost home ownership (LCHO) for tenants who aspire to own their own home with options such as shared equity, shared ownership and the Scottish Government’s low cost initiative for first time buyers (LIFT) which is administered by Registered Social Landlords. These schemes are advertised when they become available and contact should be made with the housing providers if you wish further details.

Back to the Owning your Council home page.