How can we help you...

Council Composition

Aberdeen City Council

Aberdeen City Council has 43 Councillors in 13 multi-member wards.  The Council Administration is a coalition of Labour, Conservative and Independent Councillors.  The coalition Administration has published its vision for the city 2012-2017:- Aberdeen - the Smarter City.

The current political make-up of the Council is:

Political Party Number of Councillors

 Scottish Labour Party


 Scottish National Party (SNP)


 Scottish Liberal Democrats


 Independent Alliance Group 


 Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party


To find out which ward you are in, use our Interactive Mapping Service.  For details on how to contact your local Councillors and/or to attend a Councillor surgery, please use our Your Councillors page.

The Council has a number of Committees and Sub Committees where Councillors make decision on local issues.  The Council also appoints Councillors to various Outside Bodies.

Return to Council and Committees